Towards the Copa America Women’s Tournament 2022

The Brazilian team’s strategy, Pia Sundhage of Sweden, called on June 6 players who will defend the hopscotch colors in the 2022 Copa América de Futebol Feminino – the most important competition in the Latin American continent. The tournament will be held in Colombia in July.

Brazil is going to seek the eighth championship and is trying to maintain heroism in the competition, as it has been a champion in seven of the eight editions that have been made so far. In addition, chances are at stake for the 2023 World Cup and the 2024 Olympics. Does the team maintain a preference in competitions, even without big stars?

Calling for the Copa America Women’s Championship

Unfortunately, due to a knee injury, superstar Marta – the best player in Brazilian women’s soccer history – he will be out of the Copa America. However, Brazil is still considered by experts to be the most popular winner of the competition.

That’s because the selection has some great players such as strikers Gio Queiroz and Beer Zaneratto, and midfielders Ary and Kerolin.

Called to the Brazilian team


  • Letícia Izidoro (Corinthians);
  • Lorraine (Grêmio)
  • Luciana (Railway)

quarter players

  • Rafaelle (Arsenal-ING);
  • Taynara (Bayern Munich-ALE);
  • Kathellen (Inter Milan-ITA);
  • Antonia (ex-Madrid-CFF, no club);
  • Tamires (Corinthians);
  • Fernanda Palermo (Sao Paulo);
  • Letícia Santos (Eintracht Frankfurt-ALE).


  • Ary (Palm);
  • Kerolin (North Carolina Courage-USA);
  • Duda Santos (Palmeiras);
  • Luana (formerly PSG, no club);
  • Angelina (OL Administration-USA);
  • Duda (Flemish);
  • Adriana (Corinthians);
  • Gabi Portilho (Corinthians).


  • Debinha (North Carolina Courage-USA);
  • Gabi Nunes (Madrid CFF-ESP);
  • Geyse (ex-Madrid CFF, no club);
  • Zaneratto Beer (Palmeiras);
  • Gio Queiroz (Levante-ESP).

American Women’s Cup 2022

The Copa América Feminina 2022 will be the ninth edition of the tournament, which will take place between July 8 and 30, in Colombia. The top three winners of the competition qualify 2023 World Cup and the great champion ensures a place in 2024 Olympic Games.

The ten participating teams were divided into two groups of five participants. The top two in each group qualify for the semi-finals so that, in the series, we have a big decision. Brazil was Group B of the tournament.

Brazil’s Copa America Group

The group from Brazil consists of Peru, Venezuela, Argentina and Uruguay as members. This was considered to be “death group” – more difficult – having three strong and traditional teams on the continent (Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay). Another group went to Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, and Bolivia.

Brazil will play friendly matches against Denmark (June 24) and Sweden (June 28) in preparation for the continental tournament.

World Cup and Olympic expectations

The Women’s World Cup will be played in 2023 in Australia and New Zealand. The champion, runner-up and third place winner of the Copa América will qualify for this tournament, which will take place between July 20 and August 20.

The great Latin American champion will have the opportunity to be only representative from here at the 2024 Olympic Games, which will be held in Paris between 26 July and 11 August.

Brazilian History in the Women’s Copa America

Brazil is, by far, the biggest champion in the history of the Copa America Women. In eight editions, seven titles have been won. The only time we lost the title was to Argentina, the creators of the 2006 edition.

Once, the cup was in the Brazilian territory. Names came up: 1991, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2010, 2014 and 2018.

subsequent editions

The 2022 edition of the Copa America Feminina will be the last to be produced every four years. From now on, the competition will be held every two years, and we will already have a version by 2024 – still without a specified location.

Leave a Comment