Since January 1, 2016, Texas has allowed “open carry” — or wearing weapons visibly in belt or shoulder holsters. This law has been passed Although 75 percent of Texas police chiefs expressed opposition to open carry. Since then, lawmakers have passed more gun laws, several of which took effect on September 1, 2019, and have also eased restrictions on open carry in Texas.
Now most Texans can carry a handgun in public without obtaining a special license to carry it. Texas residents can also obtain a License to Carry (LTC) for additional benefits.
Who can open carry in Texas?
In general, Texas residents can carry in Texas if they meet the following requirements
- – He must be at least 21 years old
– He must not have a previous conviction for a felony whose sentence expired within the last five years, even after only five years in the person’s place of residence
– Not to be a member of a criminal street gang
– He must not have been convicted of a domestic violence crime whose sentence expired within the last five years
– Not subject to a protective order
– Not prohibited from carrying a firearm under federal law
– He must not be drunk except inside his residence or inside his vehicle. (If you are driving while intoxicated, it is illegal to carry a weapon.)
Learn about: Campus Carry in Texas
Open carry laws that went into effect in September 2019
Here’s a quick summary of the new laws that took effect on September 1, 2019 in Texas.
- Senate Bill 535: Texas residents are allowed to carry weapons in churches and other places of worship unless prohibited by those places with appropriate signage.
- Senate Bill 741: Property owners associations are prohibited from prohibiting the storage of weapons in rental properties
- House Bill 121: Provides a legal defense for licensed handgun owners who unwittingly enter an establishment that prohibits firearms as long as they leave upon request.
- House Bill 302: Landlords are prohibited from prohibiting tenants and their guests from carrying firearms in rental agreements
- House Bill 1387: Eases restrictions on the number of school guards who can carry weapons in public and private schools in Texas
- House Bill 1177: Texas residents are allowed to carry handguns without a license during a state of disaster
- House Bill 1143: Prohibits school districts from prohibiting licensed gun owners from storing weapons in their cars in parking lots
- House Bill 2363Some nurseries are allowed to store weapons in closed places.
Who can get a license to carry in Texas?
A carry license gives you additional rights, such as the ability to carry in a secure area such as an airport, on campus, at a government meeting, etc.
Generally, a person who has been a resident of the state for at least six months, is at least 21 years old, has not been convicted of a felony and is of sound mind may apply for a license to carry. The comprehensive list of eligibility requirements includes:
- Age 21 or older, although some military exemptions apply to servicemen and women;
- No criminal convictions.
- You do not have a pending charge of disorderly conduct;
- You have not been charged with a felony;
- You are not a fugitive for anything other than a warrant based on a Class C citation;
- You are not dependent on chemicals.
- You are able to exercise sound judgment regarding the proper use and storage of the handgun;
- You have not been convicted of any level of disorderly conduct within the past five years;
- Have not been convicted of any Class A or Class B crime in the past five years;
- You have never been convicted of a felony;
- You are eligible under federal law to purchase a firearm; (be seen 18 USC 44 §922.)
- You are not late in making child support payments;
- You are not behind on your taxes;
- You are not subject to a protective order;
- You have not been convicted of engaging in deviant behavior within the past 10 years;
- You did not lie on your application.
Do I need a license to carry long weapons?
Long guns do not require a license to carry. The law only applies to handguns.
Can an officer stop me for no reason other than asking for my license?
no. An officer may not stop a person simply to determine whether he or she has a license to carry. While they may make Consensual meetingThe person he is talking to has the right to walk away. Not answering questions, and not showing their license. On the other hand, if an officer has reasonable suspicion or probable cause that a crime has occurred or is occurring, he or she may legally stop that person. If you are Legally stopped You are then asked to show the officer your license to carry.
What if I refuse to show my license to carry to the officer?
If a police officer has good reason to stop you and then asks to see your license, failure to show your license is a violation of Government Code Section 411.205. However, the legislator abolished the punishment that existed for this crime. (The previous version of the law said that failure to show a license to carry would result in a 90-day license suspension. The subsequent offense was a Class B misdemeanor.) Currently, this is a violation without a penalty violation.
How will a criminal conviction affect my ability to obtain a license to carry under Texas law?
- A conviction on a Class C disorderly conduct charge will result in the ability to obtain a license to carry being suspended for five years.
- Any Class B or Class A conviction will result in the ability to obtain a license to carry being suspended for five years.
- Any felony conviction will result in the loss of the privilege of obtaining a license to carry.
Can I carry a handgun on campus?
Yes, but the firearm must be concealed when carried on campus, which means it must be concealed in a holster, or tucked in a backpack or purse. Institutions of higher education do not allow open carry. You cannot openly carry a weapon on campus. Learn more in this video with certified criminal defense attorney Benson Varghese:
The law still prohibits carrying firearms (and other weapons) in the following locations:
- Polling place
- A court or office used by a court
- In the secure area of the airport
- 1,000 feet away from the execution.
Until August 1, 2016, Penal Code 46.035 It is prohibited to carry a handgun, even with a license to carry, in the following places:
- Businesses that derive 51 percent or more of their income from the sale of alcohol
- School, collegiate or professional sporting events
- Correctional facility
- Hospitals and nursing facilities
Does poisoning affect the ability to get pregnant with a pregnancy license?
Yes. It is a crime to carry a handgun, even with a license to carry, if the person carrying the handgun is intoxicated.